

131st MAINE LEGISLATURE

April 28, 2023

The Honorable Pete Buttigieg Secretary of Transportation US Department of Transportation 1200 New Jersey Ave., SE Washington, DC 20590

Dear Secretary Buttigieg:

We are writing to express our strong support for the State of Maine's request for federal funding from the 2023 Port Infrastructure Development Program (PIDP) Grant Program. Maine's ports have long been an essential part of our economy, providing good-paying jobs and serving as a hub of commerce and trade for the region. With this funding request of \$39 million, the federal government can help modernize and prepare Maine's ports for the future, benefitting both the state and the nation's economy.

Maine's maritime industry has a rich history dating back centuries, and it remains a critical component of our economy today. The state's three seaports (Portland, Searsport, and Eastport) have been the cornerstone of Maine's three-port strategy since the late 1970s. However, to keep pace with the changing demands of the global economy, it is time to modernize and upgrade the infrastructure within these ports.

The state has worked collaboratively with local officials and private business to identify the most pressing needs and priority projects that will yield the greatest impact for Maine's industries. These include essential upgrades such as refrigerated container improvements and dredging at the Port of Portland, the design and environmental work required for offshore wind port development in Searsport, and the rehabilitation of the Eastport Fish Pier and extension of the Breakwater. These projects will help prepare our ports for the future and ensure that Maine remains a vital hub of commerce and trade.

We urge you to strongly consider Maine's request for federal funding PIDP Grant Program. The modernization and expansion of our port infrastructure will benefit not only Maine's economy but also the regional and national economies. Thank you for your consideration of this important request.

Sincerely,

Marianne Moore State Senator Benjamin T. Collings State Representative

Benjamin J. Collings

W. Edward Crockett

W. Edward Crockett State Representative

Sur forey

Anne Perry State Representative

Charles A. Skold State Representative

Clu Spil

Matt Moonen
State Representative

Samuel L. Zager State Representative